Coworking part 2: Living and working together

7 Jun

We haven’t lived together for very long at all, but Michael and I are constantly finding out that living with someone is both more and less challenging than we had thought. We both love that the other is creative, but creativity ends up taking A LOT of space, or at least, my version of creativity does. Michael’s apartment in Highland Park is pretty spacious, with a tiny upstairs bedroom, living room, and –luxuries of luxuries– a work room. During the school year, when I was in Cambridge and he lived alone, he was able to keep things pretty spartan and contained. But now, my apples and crafting supplies have taken over the entire place. I like to spread out and have everything I could need close at hand, which I imagine gets pretty annoying. I’m trying to contain it, but in spite of my best intentions, I end up buying EVEN MORE supplies and taking over EVEN MORE space.

Coworking for two

Our work room and my mess, wall images by Michael @ http://www.juicesandmilks.com

Apple rings, Orderly Civilians

Production line

Even the back yard is not immune from my space-hogging ways.

And there are soooo many dishes…

But it’s nice to have someone to work with and someone to come home to. Someone to go to Trader Joe’s with and go hiking with. Someone to curl up next to and be warmed by at night. Our living together has, besides my slovenly ways, been quite easy and civil. We agree on the more important decisions and it’s nice that our domestic bliss hasn’t erupted into a lava-spewing volcano of anger. It’s easy to forget that we are individuals and each need time to be alone, although I have the opportunity to be alone during most of the day (at least for the summer). I need to be more diligent about managing my sprawl and work harder at focusing on my own work. Poor Michael has been working on his personal website and is easily distracted and all I want to do is cuddle and do fun stuff and badger him to pay attention to me after a long day of solitude.

Badger. Badger.

Leave a Reply

